
Classes are offered on selected weeknights from 6-10 pm or on 
Saturdays from 8 am-12 pm or 1-5 pm. Classes are held in McLean
County at Heartland Community College, Normal, Illinois.

OUT-OF-COUNTY/OUT-OF-STATE DEFENDANTS-To attend class in 
another state or county, choose box "B". You must still pay all fees listed 
next to box "B" to the CLERK OF THE CIRCUIT COURT OF MCLEAN 
COUNTY. Complete the Registration Form below. Indicate the desired state 
or county in question #2 below.  Additional fees may be required by the 
school offering defensive driving courses located in other states or counties. 
Fees and registration form must be received by McLean County prior to 
attending class.

TO REGISTER-Complete the Registration Form below. This form must 
be received by the CLERK OF THE CIRCUIT COURT before the Court 
Date on your citation (ticket) with your $120 (non-refundable), unless the 
citation (ticket) is for speeding 21-30 mph over the speed limit, then pay 
$140 (non-refundable). Make your personal check or money order 
payable to the CLERK OF THE CIRCUIT COURT. Do not send cash.  
Mail this envelope before the court date on your citation (ticket). Please 
allow 5 working days for mail delivery.

TRAFFIC SAFETY SCHOOL-Your class assignment form will be mailed to 
you. You should receive your class assignment in 4-6 weeks from payment 
date. Your request for class day and time will be honored, if possible. If 
you cannot attend your assigned class, immediately call Traffic Safety 
School and reschedule. To reschedule at no fee, call no later than the date 
printed on your class assignment form. After that date the rescheduling 
fee is $25. If you miss your class, you must reschedule a new class and 
pay $25. If you have questions about Traffic Safety School contact their
office at (309) 268-8159 between 8:00 AM and 4:30 PM, Monday - Friday.

IF YOU COMPLETE CLASS YOU WILL NOT NEED TO APPEAR
IN COURT-Traffic Safety School will report to the court when you 
complete class. No driving conviction will be reported to the Secretary
of State.

TO TRANSFER OUT of McLean County and attend traffic safety school
in another location, you are responsible for locating and completing the 
course. Additional fees may be required. NOTE: Online classes do NOT 
meet McLean County requirements.

Complete this side only if you chose box B.

PLEASE READ AND FILL OUT BELOW*
1. Are you Hispanic or Latino?
 Yes Hispanic or Latino
 Not Hispanic or Latino

2. Are you from one or more of the following racial groups?
 American Indian or Alaska Native
 Asian
 Black or African American
 Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
 White
 Choose not to respond

3. Please identify your primary racial/ethnic group (Select one).
 American Indian or Alaska Native
 Asian
 Black or African American
 Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
 White
 Choose not to respond

4. Are you in the United States on a Visa – Nonresident Alien?
 Yes in the United States on a Visa.
 If yes, please provide home country of origin.

                _____________________________________________

 Not in the United States on a Visa.

5. Please check highest degree earned.
Doctoral Degree
Masters Degree
Bachelors Degree
Associates Degree
Certificate
Some college
High School Diploma
GED
None
Other
Unknown

*Information required by 
Heartland Community College
to fulfill state reporting requirements.
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PUT AN X IN THE BOX     
OF YOUR CHOICE FOR 
QUESTIONS BELOW

When do you want
to go to class?    

❏ Weeknight (6 -10 pm) 

❏ Saturday (8 am-12 pm) 
                      or (1- 5 pm)

I want to attend Traffic 
Safety School location 
outside of McLean 
County

❏Yes  ❏No

1.

2.

NOTE: It is the student's responsibility
to schedule and locate a class out of
the area. Additional fees may be required. 
Online classes do NOT meet McLean
County requirements.

FOR QUESTIONS REGARDING CITATIONS, CONTACT THE 
MCLEAN COUNTY CIRCUIT CLERK’S OFFICE AT (309) 888-5310



Plead Guilty, Pay $75, unless the citation (ticket) is for speeding 21-30 mph over
the  speed limit, then pay $95. Conviction is reported to the Secretary of State. 
Place your signature in the box at the right and mail in this envelope.
DO NOT APPEAR IN COURT.

Avoid a Conviction On Your Driving Record, Plead Guilty, Register for Traffic 
School and Receive Court Supervision, Pay $120 (non refundable), unless the 
citation (ticket) is for speeding 21-30 mph over the speed limit, then pay $140 
(non refundable). Place your signature in the box at the right.
Fill out the reverse side of this form and mail in this envelope. 
DO NOT APPEAR IN COURT.

Plead Not Guilty and Request: (check one)
 Bench Trial Before A Judge  A Jury Trial       A Pre Trial
Mail this form in the envelope and the clerk will mail you a trial date.
DO NOT APPEAR IN COURT UNTIL YOU RECEIVE A TRIAL DATE.

Print Last Name First Name Citation
Number

M.I.

A.

B.

C. etaDerutangiS ruoY

If you marked A or B, you must read 
and sign the following.
I plead guilty.
If I have marked box B, 
I understand that if I am not eligible for
or do not complete Traffic Safety School: 
 –  a conviction for this complaint will be
     reported to the Secretary of State. 
     and
 –  the fines and fees are not  refundable 

X

McLean CountyYOUR THREE CHOICES:
Read all the information below in paragraphs 1-10 before making your 
choice. CDL holders and drivers under age 18 must choose box A or C.

YOU WILL NOT APPEAR BEFORE A JUDGE OR HAVE A TRIAL ON THE APPEARANCE DATE ON YOUR CITATION (TICKET).

1. This completed form and copy of citation (ticket) must be received by the 
CLERK OF THE CIRCUIT COURT before the Court Date on your citation (ticket). 
If not, your fine may increase and your driving privileges may be suspended.

2. Money orders or personal checks must be made payable to the
CLERK OF THE CIRCUIT COURT or pay online with credit card at
www.mcleancountyil.gov. Do not send cash.

3. If your citation (ticket) is marked "YOU MUST APPEAR IN COURT," you 
cannot use this envelope. Your appearance in court is required. Go to the court
on the date given on your citation (ticket).

4. If your citation (ticket) is NOT marked "YOU MUST APPEAR IN COURT," 
you have three choices. Read them carefully and put an X in one of the 
boxes above, follow the instructions and mail this envelope before the 
court date given on your citation (ticket). Please allow 5 working days for mail 
delivery.

5. Your receipt, drivers license and/or bond card will be mailed to you when you 
mark box A or B and after your payment is received and processed. Enclose a self 
addressed, stamped envelope for the return of your receipt, drivers license and/or 
bond card.

6. This procedure does not apply to CDL holders. 
Choose box C for an appearance in Court.

7. This procedure does not apply to drivers under the age of 18.  
Choose box C for an appearance in Court.

8. To register for the Traffic Safety School and avoid a conviction on 
your driving record, mark box B, place your signature in the box 
above and fill out the "Registration Form" on the reverse side of this 
form.

9. If you were enrolled in or have completed Traffic Safety School 
for a violation committed within the past twelve months you are 
not eligible to take the four hour course again.

10. If you are found to be ineligible for the 4 hour course, a conviction 
will be reported to the Secretary of State and your fines and fees are 
not refundable.

YOU MUST MAKE YOUR CHOICE AND
MAIL THIS ENVELOPE BEFORE THE

COURT DATE GIVEN ON THE
CITATION/TICKET

PLEASE READ INSTRUCTIONS BELOW
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